Board members are appointed for three years by the County Executive and approved through the St. Charles County Council. Members of the Board can be reappointed at the discretion of the County Executive. These volunteer appointments are considered an honor and an obligation taken willingly and with an open mind, involving public trust and the distribution of sales tax revenues to organizations and agencies providing services to children and youth of St. Charles County.
Nancy Schneider

Nancy Schneider



Molly Dempsey

Vice Chair

Cory Elliot

Cory Elliott


Paul Boschert

Paul Boschert, Jr.


Ken Dobbins

Kenneth Dobbins, Ph.D.



Pastor Raymond Horry



Larry Marty


Matt Pirtle

Matt Pirtle



Catherine Williams



Bruce Sowatsky

Bruce Sowatsky - Executive Director

Bruce was named Executive Director in 1999, and under his leadership the CCRB has grown to serve approximately 70,000 to 80,000 children and youth annually, and over $84 million has been invested in services for children in St. Charles. He has assisted nine Missouri counties in passing similar localized taxes for children’s mental health services. Bruce is a member of the Regional Data Alliance Steering Committee, serves as a Board Member for the St. Charles Regional Chamber of Commerce, and is active in efforts to raise awareness about the impact of trauma and mental health conditions on children. Sowatsky was recognized as a 2019 Distinguished Alumni by the Brown School of Social Work at Washington University. In 2007, Sowatsky brought together community members to create the Shower of Love, a baby care collection drive, which has raised $1,000,000 for babies and teen parents in St. Charles County. His dedication, insight, and immense heart for children are visible in everything he does.


Michelle McElfresh - Director of Contracts and Compliance

Michelle began her career with the CCRB in 2007 as Administrative Assistant, and was promoted to Grants Administrator in 2017. Michelle has a Bachelor’s of Arts in Communication from University of Missouri-St. Louis, and is a 2019 graduate of Vision St. Charles Leadership. Michelle manages agency compliance in contracts, clinical outcomes agreements, and site audits. In addition, she prepares reports about the impact services have made for children and their families in St. Charles County. Michelle serves on the St. Charles County System of Care leadership team and the Community Services Summit and is excited to partner with other agencies to provide strong programs and community impact in St. Charles County.

Jeanne Spencer

Jeanne Spencer - Program Specialist

Jeanne joined the CCRB in 2017 and represents the CCRB at the Western St. Charles County Chamber of Commerce. Jeanne manages funded programs and is the Coordinator for Shower of Love. She earned a Masters of Education from Lindenwood University and is pursuing a Masters in Nonprofit Leadership at Webster University. Jeanne has personal experience in parenting children living with mental health conditions, increasing her empathy for parents and professionals who support our youth.

Tavana Darris - Communication Specialist

Tavana earned a Bachelor in Communications from the University of Missouri-St. Louis and has managed various communications within the fundraising, non-profits and business sectors for over 15 years. At the CCRB, Tavana will manage communication and office responsibilities that support community outreach and the CCRB team.


Ron Berrey, Ed.D, 2019Frank Martinez, 2012

In Memoriam

Tom Brown (1998-2004)*Dr. Hank Clever (1998-2004)
Gil Copley (1998)Dennis Emge (2000-2004)
Gil Lauer (2009-2011)Frank Martinez (1997-2012)
Vince Schneider (1998-2009) 

*Years of service to CCRB